How to Become a Referee

In order to become a referee, you will need to take a certification class on the Laws of the game under the auspices of FIFA and USSF.

Requirements to Become a Referee in Western New York State:

1. You must be at least 12 years old as of May 1st of your first year of registration.
2. You must complete a certification class.
3. If you are NOT a U.S. Citizen, you must be eligible to work in the United States.
4. In order to work virtually any youth game in Western New York, you must possess a valid Risk Management Pass from New York State West Youth Soccer Association (NYSWYSA).

Much Does It Cost?

The cost of the class is $80.00 which includes your Annual Referee Registration with USSF.
You may be required to pay local dues.

If you want any information on signing up for a referee class, click here.

Please note:
It is not necessary to take your referee class in your home district or state. If you are taking the course outside of your home territory, let the course instructor know and they will take care of any details required by USSF, the state and your home district.

NEXT: New York State West Risk Management Program